Camel Valley Vineyard

25 Jul

I’m counting down the days (20) until Phil and I load the car up and drive down to Cornwall. We’ve been together now for 3 years, and every summer we make the trip to Phil’s parent’s for a week away.

It’s always a really relaxing and lovely place to be, and it’s great to spend time with Phil’s family. One of things I look forward to the most is all the local produce that Cornwall has to offer. From pasties, to cheese, to fudge, you name it, Cornwall has it to offer. But the best bit HAS TO BE the booze. There really is something there for everyone, some amazing local ciders, some great ales, and the one that matters the most, wine.

Each year we take a trip to Camel Valley vineyard, and go on their tasting tour. For anyone who likes a good glass, I highly recommend it. The tour only costs about £12 per person, including wine (and there is a lot of wine!), and they guys at the family run vineyard always create a really interesting, light and humoured tour to follow as well.

And when the tour is finished, don’t forget to pop into the shop and stock up on your favourites. Being a traditional independent vineyard, their wine is stocked in a lot of Cornwall’s local wine merchants and restaurants, but it’s much harder to get a hold of when you’re back up North… so we always ending up leaving with quite a few bottles.

Each year my favourite seems to change. I started off very much an Atlantic Dry kinda gal, but last year I was all over the Bacchus Dry. It’s got some lovely citrusy notes, that I love to serve with Italian (or pretty much anything else!). If Phil had his way, he would drink nothing but Cornwall Brut, their delicious award winning sparkling wine (the boy has expensive taste).

But don’t take my word for it. Go on the tour, try it for yourself, and pick you’re own favourites! For more information, or to book a tour place, check out their website www.camelvalley.com , and maybe I’ll see you there!

Look out for more posts next month as I work my way through as much of Cornwall’s local produce as they have to offer on our little holiday!

Camel Valley Vineyard:

 Camel Valley Ltd , Nanstallon, Bodmin, Cornwall, PL30 5LG

Leave a comment